Joseph O’Neill: “I am Not Afraid to Experiment with the Camera”

Artist name: Joseph O’Neill

Featured Work 1: Madison Square Park,  New York, NY, 2012

jp2

Joseph O’Neill revels in the dark and leaves the viewer in a quiet and peaceful mystery.

Featured Work 2: New York, NY

jo1

Shades of night soften the industrial structures.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

 “Art is everything and everything is art. The Dadaist took the Mona Lisa and gave her a mustache, calling that art-they called a urinal art. So who am I to give a definition. Art is in the eye of the beholder. Art fulfills the void.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

 “I was a chef, pursuing that as a career for fifteen years of my life. I enjoyed the creative side just not the work aspect of cooking. When I was younger I painted, worked with wood and created art with stained glass.

Why?

Cooking was to please my parents, painted because I adored my grandmother, she painted and was the artistic one in the family. I then in turn started creating works of what would become my calling.  The others were required as part of my school curriculum.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“I now work primarily in the photographic medium and I still cook.

Why?

Working in the photographic medium allows me to explore my muse, New York City, it’s people, places and culture.  Cooking gives me pleasure in a hands on tactile way.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“I could say world peace … but on a more personal note, continued creativity, exploration of new techniques, and of course success!”

5.  Do you want to add anything?

“I have no formal art education with the exception of culinary school. I found photography at a late time in life therefore I am not afraid to experiment with the camera. Always be creative, it will never disappoint.”

Artist Supplied Background:  

My journey started with my Grandmother, also an artist, who constantly encouraged me to be creative and explore the artist within me.  I soon discovered the photographer Eugene Adget and his unique way of capturing the simplicities of everyday life.  Also, Manray for showing me that photography is art.   Although I have no formal art education in the art world, I did attend the Johnson and Wales University for Culinary Arts, and suspect the care and attention I learned to pay to food helped shape my appreciation of the beauty of the ordinary, day-to-day life. Also, because I am self-taught as a photographer, I am never afraid to explore, question and educate myself, to become more nuanced in capturing what I would like to share to the world. I have had the great fortune to not only participate in numerous photo expositions, but to have placed in a handful of them.  The most recent result is that I have been invited to show my work in group shows at galleries throughout the world.

View more of Joseph O’Neill’s work here.

IMG_6069

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

