Julie Maida: “Because it Makes Me Happy”

Artist name: Julie Maida

Featured Works: Lion encaustic artwork and Thomas Johnson Elementary School (in Baltimore) floor mural

lions

This group of pieces with lion subject matter exemplify artist and designer Julie Maida’s ability to work in a variety of media, scales, and formats.

Feature from Graphic Design Portfolio:

Kailaward2

Julie Maida’s work shows a meeting of precision and fluidity.  It is both gentle and confident, precise and organic.

5 Questions for the Artist:

  1. What is art to you?

“Art to me is a combination of creativity, inspiration, and artistic process. I appreciate both the thought and the physical craft that goes into it.  A lot of people think that art and design are easy, or quick; “just happen,” but more often than not, a lot of thought and work goes into the process.  It’s practice, it’s research, its work. Sometimes its failure.  I love to look at work that gives me a glimpse into the process and thought behind the final piece. That is what makes each person’s art so unique and, in my opinion, its one of the best things about art – it’s personal.”

  1. What did you make in the past, and why?

“In the past I tried a lot of different mediums and styles; everything from charcoal to vivid oil color painting. I made things that I thought were beautiful or interesting or fun to draw. I did a lot of figure drawing because I love the human form.  I love the way even the tiniest gesture can communicate a certain emotion or message to the viewer.  My art was, and often still is, art for art’s sake.”

  1. What are you making now, and why?

“I am much more business minded than I used to be, so I am more focused on specific things. I do a lot of design work now (logos, marketing material, website work, etc.)  Sometimes people think that this is less creative or artistic, but I don’t think so. I enjoy it just as much. Design work requires a lot of thought, sketches, mastering a new medium, and I get to help businesses in the process. I love start ups.  I love to help them with their vision. It is very rewarding. On the fine art side, I am doing almost exclusively encaustic work (which is pigmented beeswax). I absolutely love it. I love the process (I get to use a heat gun), the organic nature of wax, and the soft dreamy look that it creates. My subject matter is primarily nature related now. I do it because it makes me happy.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“I guess they are simple. I hope to get better, to learn more, and to grow my business.”

(5. Do you want to add anything? -no response)

Artist Supplied Background: Julia Maida has always had a desire to be creative and has been drawing and painting since she was old enough to do so.  She followed her passion and went to school at the University of the Arts where she received a BFA in Illustration. As a professional, she split her efforts between the design side of her business (graphic design and website), and the fine art side (murals and paintings). Her favorite fine art medium, and the one she works in the most, is called “encaustic” (which is pigmented beeswax). Julia Maida is on Facebook.

10570338_10205262308623279_8490788821881746397_n

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

