Natalka Pavlysh: “Satisfaction from Something Made by Your Own Hands”

Artist’s Name: Natalka Pavlysh

Featured Work 1: Heartbeat Embroidery

skry 8

Natalka Pavlysh uses her fine handcraft skills to create unique embroidery pieces. Her work is for sale at her shop, skrynka. She shares in an interview on the Etsy blog:

“I love embroidery. Most of all, I am inspired by traditional Ukrainian designs. The rich tradition of homemade Ukrainian fabrics and handmade embroidery goes back many centuries and is a national treasure. Traditionally, every bride had to embroider her wedding outfit.  As far back as in the Middle Ages, every Ukrainian household had a special place for an icon adorned by an embroidered festive towel known as the rushnyk.  The designs themselves are full of deep meaning, made up of traditional ethnic symbols that signify health, wealth, love, and happiness.”

Feature 2: Selection of Embroidered Jewelry

skcoll2

As well as practicing embroidery Natalka Pavlysh  runs the site ReComputing with her husband, selling “geeky items made of recycled computer parts.”

5 Questions for the Artist:

  1. What is art to you?

“Art is magic; something that comes from the air strictly to the soul, and then comes up as some art piece. It’s hard to explain, but I don’t think that art can be planned and made strictly by the rules.”

  1. What did you make in the past, and why?

“In the past, I was a bank clerk. I knew a lot of crafts from childhood, but embroidery became my first way to express my thoughts, interests, likes and philosophy. Embroidery is a traditional craft from Ukraine, and it was very natural to me to use it as my art medium.”

  1. What are you making now, and why?

“Now I’m still making embroidered jewelry, but also, silver jewelry making caught me and 2015 was a year of learning silversmith. Silver allow me more flexibility and I’m looking forward to new techniques to learn.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“My hopes for the future is to be able to make a decent living from my work and to learn more crafts. Someday I’d like to try ceramics, I think it’s fascinating and has a soul.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“I want to add a wish for everyone who feels the need to make some art. Put aside all your fears, do what you feel is good and right. The satisfaction from something made by your own hands can’t be overpriced.”

Artist Provided Background (from Etsy): Natalka Pavlysh is from Ukraine, a beautiful European country. She’s spent all her life in Ukraine. She has never been abroad, and her biggest dream is to travel and see the world with her own eyes.

She is also on Facebook and Pinterest.

sksp

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

