Jasmine Mills: “Now I am More in Love with What I Can Create”

Artist name: Jasmine Mills

Featured Work 1: The Virgin

The Virgin
This woman comprised of stark brush strokes fills the canvas and confronts the viewer.  This work is raw, beautiful, monochromatic, and intimate.

Featured Work 2:

SCAN0100

In a different tone and style, this mysterious character is carefully and gorgeously crafted. These two pieces speak to multi-media artist Jasmine Mills’ versatility. She is also a master face and body painter (sample below).

Face and Body Painting

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Art to me is the most pure form of expression. Creation of something that was once intangible and bringing it to a physical plane. It is said that God created us in his own image, with that giving us the gift of creation itself. I take Art and any form of expression and creation very seriously.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“In the past I made a lot of my art from what I saw in my waking hours. Real life. So a lot of commercial art; people and graffiti from cartoons or shows on television.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“Now I am more in love with what I can create. Now I create what I want to. I have given myself permission to use what I want and how I want to use it to express anything I want with no limits. I paint some of the things I see in my dreams, I paint some of every subject. I think its OK not to have just one subject or medium you like to do.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“My hopes in the future are to inspire other young people to express themselves and understand their individuality and how whatever they choose to create is fantastic!  Also for myself to grow more and more as a creator and expand globally. Not just my art but the artists’ way of living. You have not seen art until you have seen how the artists lives.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“I always want to add to the world not take from it. Being from where I am from, a lot of people do not live out their dreams, hopes, and aspirations. They wait for someone to snatch them from obscurity. Being an artist and creator I take it as my duty to help these people by showing them that if they dream big enough and give themselves permission, they can achieve their own greatness.”

Artist Supplied Background:

Jasmine Mills was born in Petersburg, Virginia in 1986. She works predominantly in the medium of paint but also includes film, computer graphics, large installations, and various multi-media. She is mostly self-taught and took advantage of the art program at her high school. Jasmine was accepted and landed a scholarship with The Art Institute of Washington DC, but elected instead to start her own business. She has owned and operated under the fictitious name Customs, recently changed to ArtHouse7 designs, since 2006. She has produced an array of works for various clientele. She also sells an array of original works on her website and various other art sites and showcases entries with local art galleries. Jasmine spends her time creating her original work, commissions, and illustrations at her in home studio as well as her studio #33 located at the ward center for contemporary arts. Find her on Facebook and Instagram.

Jasmine Mills

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

