Ashley Mintz: “I Want to Create as Much as I Can to Keep the Arts Alive” (Art and Music)

Artist name: Ashley Mintz

Featured Work 1: A Girl

a girl
This piece completed in 2014  is mixed media on canvas (6″ x 6″ x 1.5″). The main word that comes to mind when I view this piece is warmth. There is a floating tenderness to it that is entrancing. Ashley Mintz is also a writer and musician; listen to one of her pieces below.

https://www.reverbnation.com/mintzmusic/song/8319827-im-ready-instrumental?wordpress=1&pwc%5Bsize%5D=small

Featured Work 2: Violinist. 2015. 12.5″ x 14″

Violinist

Ashley Mintz’s site shares that “reproductions can be done on card stock paper, poster paper or canvas print and in various sizes.” This painting is full of light an playful color.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“To me, art is a form of self-expression. The creation of art is so unique to each artist and it tells their own personal story. Art is also a way to ask questions within our society and human experience and it’s a way to form solutions to those problems or learn to accept things.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“In the past, I made drawings. They were abstract designs. I actually started painting because I wanted to try to replicate bigger versions of some drawings I had done. The drawings began as just doodles in notebooks where I wrote song lyrics. I also recently came across some funny comic books and a “Funny Book” where I wrote funny haikus and short stories in a notebook. I am actually planning on starting to do those things again.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“Now I am making mixed media art where I incorporate text. I really love all kinds of art whether it be dance, theater, music or painting. The two that I’m really into now are painting and writing, so I am creating pieces where I include short phrases. I try to keep the phrases somewhat vague so that people can get what meaning they want from it.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“My hopes for the future are to keep creating. I meet so many people who say that they “used to” create but they stopped. If the desire to create is in you, I believe that it’s there for a reason and it’s really sad to squander that. My great-grandmother was a painter and she made quilts. My mother is a writer and photographer. All of my siblings have some artistic talent. I want to keep that in our family for generations to come and so I want to create as much as I can to keep the arts alive.”

5.  Do you want to add anything?

“Yes. Aside from meeting people who stop creating for whatever reason, I also meet some who say they wish they could create. I think that if anyone thinks it might be something they like, they should give it a try. I didn’t start painting until I was 22 and it was only because I took a chance and entered some drawings in a juried exhibition. After they were chosen, I wanted to keep pursuing it.”

Background:  From the artist’s website:

I am a self-taught artist. I love to paint, draw, play piano, (and a little bit of guitar), compose music, and write lyrics, poetry and funny skits/haikus.

Birthplace:   Las Cruces, New Mexico

Art Influences:   Jean-Michel Basquiat, Romare Bearden, Keith Harring, Thornton Dial

Music Influences:   Mindy Smith, Philip Glass, Amy Lee, Tracy Chapman, KT Tunstall

Writing Influences:   Charles Bukowski, Elie Weisel, Anais Nin, Paulo Coelho, Wally Lamb, Scott Peck, Gwen Mintz (My Mom!), Shel Silverstein

In Ashley Mintz’s exhibit “An Imaginary Life,”  the paintings were all connected and she included prose in between each painting that told a story. Her full exhibition list is here.

1129141247-2-2-2-3

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

