Steve Zimovan: “Lasting Images”

Artist name:  Steve Zimovan

Featured Work 1: Home Sweet Home

sz1

With a  strong illustrative style that is both nostalgic and inventive, Steve Zimovan’s work is striking and beautiful. He uses sharp edges, thick outlines, color fades, and organic curves to create fresh takes on a range of classic and unique characters, themes and images. His works above and below show his ability to  design bold tattoos as well as narrative illustrations with a vintage feel and to bring them skillfully to completion. As a Virginia native I am a big fan of the cardinal and dogwood piece.

Featured Works 2: Various Tattoos and Drawings

 

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Art to me is finding a way to to take a personal feeling or experience and outwardly expressing it.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“I’ve been drawing and painting and making art in one way or another for as long as I can remember but growing up I played music in a handful of metal and hardcore bands.  This was the best way that I could find to be able to create art and to be able to share that with other people and to be traveling.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

 “Playing heavy music I was exposed to tattoos for a number of years before I actually started getting them.  They always had an appeal to me of something that I wasn’t supposed to do or something that the kids who were getting into trouble were getting and I guess that is what drew me to them initially.  Once I was able to start tattooing I found that it is the best way for me to be able to create art and lasting images for people while being able to do it for a living.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

 “In the future I hope to progress at tattooing, travel more, and meet more people.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“If you want to talk more about music, coffee, or tattoos, email me and we can set something up.   szimovan@gmail.com”

Artist Supplied Background:

Steve is a Tattooer based out of Richmond, VA.  He focuses on a very traditional approach to tattooing and tries to produce tattoos that look like tattoos.  He spends much of his time on the road traveling for tattooing so keep an eye out.

 

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ruthanne aka " mom" says:

    Steve

    ?!!!!!??????

    Call me!!!!

    You promised you would cook me dinner?! Or did you forget? I’m hungry! LoL!!

    News!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

