Melania Brescia: “It Matters That They Feel Something When They Look at it. That’s All.

Artist name: Melania Brescia

Featured Work 1: “The only thing I’m running from is all I run back to.”

MB8

Addressing themes of boundaries, identity, intimacy, magic, the body, everyday textures, and transformation, Melania Brescia’s work asks us to pause and be drawn deeper into unique, rich moments.  We encounter vivid new possibilities, such as flowering skulls and wick burning collarbones. Her work is close up and physical yet full of mystery and unfinished narratives.

Featured Work 2: 3 Photo Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Art is very subjective. I think art is meant to make you relate to something, make you feel something. Art is not about understanding, but about interpretation. It’s not about, “oh what does the artist mean, what is he trying to say and why?,” it’s not about knowing the artist’s life and knowing what he did and why he did this piece; that’s just history, anyone can go to class and learn that. Art is interpreting it in your own way, about seeing this piece and just being hypnotized by it, is just relating to it in your own way. Artists don’t want you to buy something just because of what it means to them, but because of what it means to you. I can see the ugliest painting in the world and love it, not because “it’s so ugly it’s pretty” or things like that, but because I feel something when I look at it, I relate. When I look at it, it brings back a memory; makes me feel understood, and that’s why I would buy the ugliest painting in the world and put it on my wall, not because it’s cool, not because “oh I get it, I get the message,” it is because I feel something and probably it has nothing to do with the reason this artist made this painting, and probably if I knew it beforehand, my view of the painting would be different, and I might not want to buy it. I don’t like when people go and ask “well what does this mean to you?,” I just want to answer back with the same question!! Because that’s the whole point! Doesn’t matter if my message is not understood, it matters that they feel something when they look at it. That’s all.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“I used to take brighter pictures. This is going to sound weird, but when I was depressed, when I was sadder, I tended to take brighter pictures, more light, more white. The message is a different thing. I was also more immature.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“Now, I am happier, I am not depressed anymore. I get sad sometimes like everybody else, but I have gained control over it and I don’t fall into it anymore. I still have the same problems and concerns and worries as before, but I show them differently, maybe a little more maturely. They are darker now, I am not afraid now of doing things that could offend, because it’s none of their business, and I think that’s the biggest difference with my past me.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“I don’t have many. I am still figuring out what I want to do. I am not so sure that photography is my career choice, yet. I love it, and I need it, but that doesn’t mean it’s how I want to make a living, I just needed to vent, it’s my hobby, it’s my way out, if you want to call it that way. If I make it into a job, it wouldn’t help me anymore.”

(5. Do you want to add anything? -no)

Artist Supplied Background:

Melania Brescia was born in Malaga, Spain, where she studied arts since she was 16. Around that time, she got her first camera for Christmas and a few years later after a lot of practicing by herself, including editing, is when she started really doing some real work, all of this without really thinking about it. She was around 18, 19 years old by then. Everything started because of her introversion and depression she suffered as a teen. It didn’t help her learn how to make friends or relate to them as much, so as a way to vent she started taking pictures when she couldn’t just by talking to someone. She is 24 now and hasn’t changed that much. Melanie Brescia is also at these sites: Facebook, Instagram, and Flickr.

 

mbrescia

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

