Lana Lambert: “A Gratifying Way of Communicating”

Artist name: Lana Lambert

Featured Work 1: Farm People

Lana Lambert has an incredible ability to create an engaging snapshot of vibrant, unique characters.  Lana Lambert’s words on her well-clad menagerie (of which there are many more): “The project culminated as an entertainment of mine to create characters out of the farm animals I grew up with. I have a fondness for the costume of the 1920’s and 1930’s. Every character is hand carved and then printed on my antique letterpress in a limited edition of 100.”

Other Featured Works: Poison Sisters Miniature Pop-Up Book and Three Billy Goats Gruff Illustrationll5

ll

Lana Lambert also created the card below for The Haven day shelter’s Housing2Home Program (featured here) and the poster on the right won first place for Panera Bread’s Breast Cancer Awareness Program.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“The benchmark for “artist” to me is someone who considers their “art-making” as another function of life. A true artist holds their practice alongside functions like eating, breathing, and sleeping. It is just something we do whether we want to or not. In fact, in speaking with other artists I’ve found that denying the creative capacity to make art leaves an artist irritable and anxious. To me, it is a gratifying way of communicating. Though I may be dismissed in my other endeavors, people usually pay attention to my art.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“I started out making a lot of tree themed linoleum cuts, wood block prints, and paper cuts. The patterns that tree limbs created in their silhouettes fascinated me. I was also trying to get used to carving with wood block cutting knives and the process. After a while, I started to miss doing illustrations.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“I recently launched a small hand made letterpress card company. The concept stays true to what attracted me to printmaking in the first place; works of art that are numerous in edition so that they may be dispersed easily and are more affordable for someone who wants to be a collector but might not have the means.
I was recently commissioned to design a set of cards for The Haven. It was a real opportunity to come up with something fun that people would enjoy receiving.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“The next few months are going to be busy as I’m in the process of producing my first catalog chock full of new card designs.
I’m also in the process of working on some new blocks for some fine art prints I’m doing focusing on a William Blake poem and a book that features my woodblock prints with haikus on the moon.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“Anyone can be an artist and there is a broad variety of art practices; culinary arts, martial arts, aural arts, there are even some out there who can make cleaning a bathroom a work of art. Just do it!”

Artist Supplied Background:

Lana Lambert is a resident artist at the Virginia Arts of the Book Center in Charlottesville, Virginia. She strives to practice her craft, fill her life with the abundance of the natural world, and create works that inspire others. She finds happiness in practicing her craft and relaying the inherent beauty in things so that someone else may see it too. Growing up in her native Nelson county, she developed a connection to the wilderness through the guidance of her elders and her time spent wandering through the woods. You can view more of her work here.

Lana profile pic

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

