Ibtihaj Al Harthi: “Joy.”

Artist name: Ibtihaj Al Harthi

Featured Work 1: Sky horse

skyhorse

Ibtihaj Al Harthi is an expert in two dimensional mediums. She has mastered accurate realism and is able to imbue her subjects with life, emotion, weight, movement, and fancy. She tells stories, captures expressions, and employs magic realism, providing a rich, enjoyable, and moving experience to her viewers.

Featured Work 2: Slideshow of 5 works

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Joy.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“I used to teach English as a Second Language in a local university. Then I lost faith in the verbal language as a form of expression and my own identity in the process. I studied art and began a new faith trip in the visual language as a new form of expression.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“I write and illustrate children’s books after regaining faith in the verbal language and deciding to mix both (verbal and visual) to create art. I enjoy writing and illustrating for children as picture books and graphic novels have simply captivated my imagination ever since I was a child. I also manage my own studio and art supplies shop where I teach art to children, the new generation. I guess I am dedicated to spreading art in any form possible!”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“To write and illustrate children’s books that are memorable to the children of my grandchildren.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“Yes, I would like to thank everyone who has supported me in my new path and helped me become a better artist and a better person.”

Artist Supplied Background:

Ibtihaj Al Harthi was born in Muscat, in 1982. She works predominantly in digital mediums but enjoys oil paintings and watercolor drawings. She graduated from the Academy of Art University with an MFA in Illustration, majoring in children’s books illustration. Her thesis focuses on fairy tales using the graphic novel format and traditional Omani folktales. Her artwork is inspired by magical realism and infused by the the everyday magic seen in the local life in Omani villages. She has participated in many local and international exhibitions, and illustrated many artwork directed to children including four published children’s books. She is a member at the Omani Society for Fine Arts (OSFA) and the Society of Children’s Books Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI). She lives and works in Muscat. She is also on Facebook and Instagram. Two of her self portraits are below.

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

