Jonathan Biehl: “To Help Make Sense of the World”

Artist name: Jonathan Biehl

Featured Work 1:

jb1

Jonathan Biehl’s works reveals the beautiful residue of  many processes. He has made careful decisions about what to cover and what to show. Scratch marks, brush strokes, and  colors that fade and resound with varying intensity come together in his images portraying introspective, abstract figures and panoramic, layered cityscapes.

More Featured Works: Painting Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“For me art is anything that affects the senses and provokes an emotional response. It’s also a way for me to help make sense of the world. Life is hard, complicated and messy. Art helps put things into perspective and gives me a sense of reason and purpose.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“The past has simply been an exploration of materials and technique. I have tried to keep things broad and basic while learning, as I am self taught. For the past few years I have focused mainly on mixed media cityscapes and abstract portraits.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“I am currently spending my days walking around Austin sketching, with pen and ink, street scenes and cityscapes. I am also allowing my plein air work to influence my more abstract pieces by blurring the lines between reality and fantasy.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“In the future I hope to develop a distinct style of storytelling that is succinct and emotional. This will be achieved by melding my plein air techniques with the research attained from my exploration of philosophy and the human condition.”

(5. Do you want to add anything?, no response)

Artist Supplied Background:

Jonathan Biehl is an Austin based fine art painter. His paintings bring a sense of wonder and excitement which exudes in his attitude towards art. “…I try to approach each piece with a sense of abandon. It helps me to feel open and free to explore.” Jonathan’s work is currently on view at local businesses in Austin and you may also see his paintings in the ABC TV show ‘American Crime – Season 2’.  Visit his website at www.jonathanbiehl-art.com or follow him on Instagram: jbiehlart.

photo (3)

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
One Comment Add yours

  1. Karla Holley says:

    LOVE the cityscapes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

