Kiarra Elliott of Afrocentric Keyy: “Unlimited Creations”

Artist name: Kiarra Elliott of Afrocentric Keyy

Featured Work 1:

ak2

Kiarra Elliott of Afrocentric Keyy’s current favorite medium is paint on recycled wood. Her images mimic this connection to our ecosystem, in which people are adorned and partnered with or visited by other species.  With an elegant sense of color relationships and spacial balance she merges the life forms into cohesion. Her striking works speak of unity, surprise, and organic beauty.

Featured Works 2-4:

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Art is the ability to speak to a wide range of audiences from different backgrounds and develop a connection with them that can last a lifetime. I am able to express multiple emotions through my paint stokes and color choices, allowing me the creative freedom to have unlimited creations.”

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“Over the last 2 and half years I have really developed my unique style as a artist and found what works best for me. I originally started out as a traditional visual artist only working on canvas for painting and paper for my drawings. I did this because it was what I was taught in school, but it wasn’t until my last 6 months of college I explored more materials and found a special connection with wood; specifically recycled compared scrap wood. I wanted to creature beautiful pieces of artwork while also being environmentally conscious.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“Right now I am working on a new upcoming tri-series painting on the same Eco wood and I also have a new drawing series were I also use some watercolor enhances for the background. I always want to challenge myself as a artist and push my creativity in trying new combinations.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“My hopes for the future is to of course keep growing and pushing my boundaries as an artist, but I would also love to have my own showcase in Europe within the next year or so. I also would love to expand my artwork internationally and become a household name.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“I am extremely grateful for all the experiences I have had thus far and the exposure I’ve had. I just want to say thank you to everyone that has supported me from the start and to all my new supporters I look forward to sharing my artistic journey with you!”

Artist Supplied Background:

Kiarra Elliott started Afrocentric Keyy in 2013 as a way to introduce her own unique style of art with her eco-conscious portraits on recycled wood to the world. Taking her years of experience in studying and making art, she developed her own style of portraying beauty and strength. Inspired by nature and the wonderful creation you can find in all forms in life, she fuses the human, animal and organic plant forms. Afrocentric Keyy is the bridging of the metaphorical and physical meanings of what is defined as beauty. She is also on Facebook and Instagram.

- Copy

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

Leave a comment