Bryanna Chapeskie: “Art Will Become Life and Life Will Become Art”

Artist name: Bryanna Chapeskie

Featured Work 1: Small still Significant

bc6

Bryanna Chapeskie’s works have  a light, airy feel and an insightful, pleasing use of delicate colors. Black outlines and wavering details decorate inviting images of  people, other living creatures, places, and objects. Her sense of narrative, whimsy, quiet, hope, and balance come through in her work as an artist and a designer.

Additional Featured Works:

bc5

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

For me, art is essential to my well-being. I need to create to feel like myself, to feel centered, and to make sense of life. It’s often like a meditation, a place I can go to escape everything. Art is fun, but it is also (and should be) a challenge. It’s exciting too, to see the path that you make for yourself as an artist. Eventually, art will become life and life will become art if you are open to that possibility!

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I’ve always loved drawing with a pen or marker. You have to just let your ideas flow right out, and if you make a misstep or something isn’t working, you can’t just erase! You have to make it work, and I love what comes out of that. In the past I’ve made a lot of watercolour and pen illustrations. I’ve created a lot of different types of things, but they usually all are based in illustration and storytelling. I am really inspired by children’s books illustrations both new and vintage.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I’m currently a student of graphic design, which means I’ve gone through a really big shift from paper and paint to the computer. It was pretty scary for me. I worried about losing a big part of myself when I decided to go from fine arts to applied arts. What this means is that right now I almost entirely am creating work for assignments! I am hoping to make a return to drawing and painting very soon, even if it is just a little bit each week.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I hope to blend my fine arts background and my design education seamlessly. Eventually I would love to work for myself, build my print company Double Dare, and become a freelance designer and illustrator. A few of my big design/illustration goals include illustrating a children’s book, working with musicians on album covers and gig posters, and designing book jackets. I would also love to work with local businesses as a designer in Halifax, since that is where my heart is!

5. Do you want to add anything?

Thanks for getting in touch! It has been nice to sit down and consider all of your questions. It helps put things in perspective!

A message for anyone reading: Don’t be afraid to create (an art piece, a business, a poem, a dance)! Just dive in, be patient, and persistent! It all adds up.

Artist Supplied Background:

“I grew up in Ontario Canada and have been making things for as long as I can remember. My formal training began at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in Halifax in 2004 . I graduated with a Bachelor in Fine Arts, and my education consisted primarily of painting and drawing, with a good dose of art history and photography. I decided to stay in Halifax after graduation and took up MANY different types of jobs, everything from working as a florist to working in a kitchen (and so many things in between) up until I decided to back to school in 2015 for Graphic Design. The years spent working for local businesses taught me a lot about my independence and fueled me with an entrepreneurial spirit. I kept an art practice no matter what, started a blog to help keep me on track, and was simultaneously learning about the sea of wonderful contemporary artists that are living and working today. This all eventually led me to starting my own print studio Double Dare Print which produces hand screen printed greeting cards and art prints. My twin sister and I work as a team, she does the majority of the screen printing and I take on most of the design work. All this while working a part time job, and studying design full time at the local college! My work currently revolves entirely around design and learning! I’ve spend many years creating illustrative drawing and watercolour paintings, and as I am learning the technology required to be a designer I am trying to blend my skills as a visual artist with my new skills as a designer. I like to try new things all of the time, but I’d say my biggest loves are still drawing and painting.” Bryanna Chapeskie is also on Instagram, Facebook, and at the Double Dare Print Studio

0

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: Poster Process |
    1. J. Travers says:

      We are thrilled to have you on the site!

      Like

Leave a Reply

