Rian L. Moses: “A Journey to Create the Best Work My Mind Can Come up With”

Artist name: Rian L. Moses

Featured Work 1: Eggolden Treasure

rm Rian L. Moses creates works focusing on nature with exquisite delicacy and detail. Her appreciation for the subtle nuances of marine life, repeating patterns, and lovely, balanced color choices make her works beautiful and ethereal.

Other Featured Works: Selection of Works

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is a form of expression that evokes an emotional or physical response from someone else. I make art because it makes me feel free creatively and it’s a bonus when someone else likes it.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

In the past I wasn’t sure what I enjoyed making, and bounced around a lot between mediums. For a while I made earrings and other jewelry out of recyclable material, like bottle caps and plastics. I was still trying to figure out what genre of painting I enjoyed doing, and during my creative slump, I passed the time by doing something brand new out of items I had on hand.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Now, I have been creating drawings and paintings using elements mostly found in the sea or under a microscope. I looked back at my favorite artwork that I created and noticed a common thread of repetition, fine line work, and organic forms. I’ve always lived around water and now the sea life comes across in my work.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

My hope is to create larger, more intricate paintings and maybe have my own show in a gallery. I also would like to make animations based off of my drawings.

5. Do you want to add anything?

It has been a journey to get where I am now, and it will continue to be a journey to create the best work my mind can come up with. The creation of art is never ending and that makes me happy.

Artist Supplied Background:

Rian L. Moses‘ art uses repetitive shapes and intricate line work found in nature, more specifically, the sea. The many organic shapes that seem to be from another planet, are the forms Rian enjoys using in her work because they have the essence of being viewed as something else. Rian graduated from VCU School of the Arts with a major in Kinetic Imaging (video, animation, sound) and a minor in Painting and Printmaking. She usually draws with fine line pens, paints with acrylics and watercolor, and uses the computer as a medium.

Rian L. Moses is also on Facebook and Instagram.

12341335_10102873473997126_2771289471040448478_n

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

