Ngozi Okechukwu of Nigerian Hippie: “I Feel Fortunate to Be Passionate about Something.”

Artist name: Ngozi Okechukwu of Nigerian Hippie

Featured Work 1: Selection of Clothing

Ngozi Okechukwu of Nigerian Hippie creates stunning handmade apparel with beautiful prints and contours.  Each custom piece, with it’s stylish, unique, and expertly handmade folds and shapes, accentuates the beautiful curves of the human body as well as the beauty of the colorful, patterned fabric.

Featured Work 2: Slideshow, a few more fashion pieces

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is fashion design to you?

Fashion design for me is first seeing that fabric and seeing the essences of it, through its colors, feel and texture. Some fabric whispers “make me a skirt” some may give off a dress vibe. Then it’s taking just folded yards of fabric and turning it into a dress or a skirt. It’s giving it personality of its own. Designing is giving fabric life.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I am self taught so starting with skirts was easiest for me.  I started making custom denim skirts out of recycled denim jeans. I took something old and gave it new life. Even back then I was focused on each person having a personal piece made just for them.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I am excited to be working with more denim. I bought a pair of shoes and got inspired to make a denim jumpsuit. That set the stage for the denim items I’m currently working on. I once got inspired to make a dress from a furniture ensemble I saw. I am also a painter so that inspires my fashion as well and I’m very excited about that. I do this work because it makes me happy. For me, life is all about creating and I just can’t stop. I feel fortunate to be passionate about something.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

My hopes are for an inspiring children’s book along with the upward growth of Nigerian Hippie. I hope to travel the world and make friends all around the globe. I intend to plant seeds of love in as many places as possible be it fashion, art or story book. I hope to run free, have more fun and grow more towards love in every possible way. Overall I hope to make a difference and inspire others through my creativity.

(5. Do you want to add anything? -no)

Artist Supplied Background:

Nigerian Hippie is handmade fashion with satisfied clients worldwide. Ngozi the designer of Nigerian Hippie likes to incorporate her Nigerian background with her free spirit personality. Ngozi has been creating for over 5 years and is keen on every shopper having a unique piece of there own. Nigerian Hippie provides a wide range of beautiful prints and colors to insure that shoppers has a custom exclusive piece that best fits there personality. I would describe Ngozi as a spiritual fast learning generalist with a passion for emerging fashion and art. Ngozi believes “we are all walking pieces of art, so why not wear it”.

Nigerian Hippie is also on Instagram.

image

 

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

