Olga Oilikki: “Art is Something That is Always With You”

Artist name: Olga Oilikki

Featured Work 1: Sloth

olga8

I am a big fan of sloths, and of Olga Oilikki’s drawings and designs. Her characters are unique but warm and familiar. Adulthood and childhood, light and dark, humor and beauty, flora and fauna all meet in her engaging illustrations, scenes, and stories.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is a challenge, the way to express yourself, hobby, work, the way of thinking, life, and one love. Since you allow yourself to be utterly absorbed in art, you start thinking and perceiving the world differently. If you draw, everything becomes a silhouette for a new sketch, if you dance, every movement is a part of the performance, if you write, every phrase you hear is the beginning of a new novel. Art is something that is always with you, no matter what you are doing or where you are. I seriously believe that everyone is artistic in one way or another.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

Two years ago I changed my life dramatically. I used to be an interpreter since I graduated the university. It was something my parents wanted me to do and someone my parents wanted me to be. It’s funny but I’ve always been bad in linguistics.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Luckily I was brave enough to leave everything behind and start what I like doing the most. I am a freelance illustrator now and I am happy as I’ve never been before.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I do not like to make any future plans as my experience tells me that sometimes plans are just pointless. I like my life as it goes. I believe that there is no such thing as life in future, there is life right here and right now, as lame as it sounds.

5. Do you want to add anything?

I like difficult tasks and do not think that perfectionism is a bad thing. I am very lazy but never late.

Artist Supplied Background:

Despite the Nordic name Olga Oilikki is associated with, she was born and grew up in Russia. Olga specializes in magazine and book illustrations and other commissioned and personal projects. As a child, Olga found immense pleasure in painting and drawing. This activity soon transformed into interest in graphic design while illustration was just a passionate hobby. Only a few years ago she became e a full time freelance illustrator based in Moscow. Olga is inspired by travelling and the people around her, thus, you can see a lot of botanical, architectural and animalistic topics in her art. She experiments with many different techniques, and utilizes various materials to achieve the desired effect. Being a self-taught artist gives Olga the freedom to express herself; her work has evolved through her own personal experience.

Olga Oilikki is also on Dribble and Instagram.

olga

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

