Betty Fei: “Just Do What You Love”

Artist name: Betty Fei

Featured Works 1 and 2:

Betty Fei’s works are beautiful, intricate, intriguing, and mesmerizing. In viewing her work we get to meet a wide range of ethereal, strong, and eccentric figures in settings which blend fantasy and reality.

Other Featured Works: Slideshow and Speed paint video

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is seeing the beauty in everything. For me the creation of art is an immersive and beautiful experience, capturing emotions and feelings – something so deep within you that you can’t even describe. When I create art, I have to listen to music to set the mood of my drawing, and the same song would be put on repeat for however many hours I draw the work for (ha-ha crazy, yes, I know) but without music I find that my works lack the spark of inspiration and emotion that I value so much. Art is capturing a hint of the great vision you see in your mind, that eureka moment, and when that moment passes you lose the inspiration, and you can never fully capture that idea you once saw. This in itself is what keeps me coming back, because when you see artworks, you’re seeing the artists’ thoughts, understanding who they are, and when you yourself create, you are letting people see who you are as a person, and this to me is a beautiful thing.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

In the past I focused a lot on fan arts, drawing faces that seemed really cute and shiny, and basically tried to find who I was as an artist by experimenting. I really looked up artists on Pixiv and tried to emulate their moe style with bright colors and studied anatomy by observing passer-bys. When I started getting the hang of things, I created fan works to sell at conventions, focused on landing freelance jobs, and then had to create for my final high school graduation work and thus I didn’t really create anything that had deeper meaning behind them. I just enjoyed the feeling of being able to draw, and still do, but now I’ve found a greater purpose behind what I create.

3. What are you making now, and why?

 I’m still experimenting with my style, and learning every day. With age comes experience (don’t judge, I’m serious), and in the recent years I’ve experienced a plethora of new emotions and experiences. Art is my way of dealing with them. When I find a song (often instrumental) that I can identify with in whatever situation I’m in, I put it on repeat and it sets a mood for my thoughts, which in turn I channel into my artworks. Nowadays all my artworks have a story behind them, even the fan arts, and seeing them always brings back emotions and stories. I’ve begun creating speed paints on YouTube, and the songs I’ve used are the songs that I listened to when I created the work, and I hope that by watching and listening, people can gain a little window into my life, all through a drawing.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

One of my dreams in life is to have my own anime company, but that’s still a looong way to go. Right now I want to concentrate on my studies, and do art in my spare time. Art is always something I fall back on when I’m struggling, and I try to squeeze it in whenever I can, such as doodling on the train and bus (and getting a lot of weird looks). I really love drawing, and can’t imagine a life without it. I just want to improve every day, no matter how small, and make art that has meaning. Attending conventions and meeting fellow artists and followers of my works really brightens up my day, and reminds me that I have such a big group of supporters. I really hope to create works that will inspire more people!

5. What else would you like to say?

Never let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. Just do what you love, and you’ll definitely get better at it, even if it seems like you’re going backwards sometimes. Immerse yourself in the experience, have fun and enjoy the ride!

Artist Supplied Background:

Betty Fei, also known as Haneiy, is a second year Commerce/ Law student and illustrator based in Sydney. Since she was young she’s been obsessed over anime and manga, often more focused on doodling instead of doing maths questions in class. At the age of 13 she discovered Deviantart and received a bamboo tablet, and the wonderful world of drawing was opened to her. Often spending more than 8 hours not moving on her computer she drew from morning til night, self learning through online tutorials and began a freelance career, doing illustrations for games and brands. At the age of 15 she began exhibiting at conventions, won the PLC Young Artist of the Year award and later published her artbook “Lullaby” in 2013. Nowadays she enjoys volunteering, getting involved at university, studying, and most of all, loving drawing.

Check out more of her work on Deviantart and Facebook.

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

