Molly Williams: “Making Feminism an Inclusive Space is Crucial to Me”

Artist name: Molly Williams

Featured Work 1:

f8

Artist Molly Williams has created a collection and tribe of feminist drawings based both on women who inspire her and whom she dreams up. As I peruse her extensive drawing collection,  I am drawn into conversation with many woman whose voices resonate in my heart.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

I think art is anything creative produced by an individual that reflects something internal and reveals a piece of themselves.  It’s something that the artist gives to the world.  On a more personal level, it is a voice that can sometimes replace words.  Feminist art, for me, is necessarily both personal and political.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I grew up dabbling in both drawing and photography; as far back as I can remember, the subjects of most of my drawings have been women of all colors and shapes.  I am also a writer and have spent a lot of time creating poetry and fiction.  I have always used art as an outlet, a way to de-stress and express myself.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I’m drawing a series of images for my Instagram account called Feminist Thought Bubble.  The images depict feminists, both famous and fictional or invented, thinking feminist thoughts.  I have tried my best to incorporate many different voices, and as a woman of color, the consideration of intersectional identities is integral to the project.  Overall, my primary hope for these drawings is that they will generate discussion and provide other feminists of all genders with a source of inspiration, and even a feeling of community or connection.  Making feminism an inclusive space is crucial to me, and I think making feminist art that is inclusive, positive and supportive while generating dialogue is a way to move in that direction.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

My hope for my own personal future is to continue to make time to create art.  My feminist hopes for the future are that some of my drawings will become less controversial as time passes, and that witnessing multidimensional diversity in visual representations of feminism will become more commonplace.

5. What else would you like to say?

I would love to give a shout-out to the other fabulous feminists I follow on Instagram, who have provided me with invaluable support and also educated me tremendously through their own art and content.  Also, I am always open to suggestions and feedback, so please send me an email or an Instagram message if you have something to say!

Artist Supplied Background:

Molly Williams is a 20-year-old college student and feminist who has loved both art and feminism since she was young, but did not think to integrate the two until she drew a picture of a girl saying the words she wished she could say.  She is interested in the ways that art can be used to start conversations and catalyze change by challenging people to engage with issues.

Molly Williams is on Instagram and Etsy.

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

