Laura Silberman: “I am so Lucky to be Able to Go to my Studio Everyday and Do What I Love”

Artist name: Laura Silberman

Featured Work 1: Baking Dishes

cbl2

Artist’s Description on Instagram:

“Fresh out of the kiln! These new baking dishes will cook up your favorite casserole and take it straight to the table when you entertain!”

 Laura Silberman’s works in clay are joyful, lively, and full of personality. They are organic, solid, and purposeful, and they playfully interact with the world around them.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is personal expression. As I’ve grown as a clay artist, I’ve learned to trust my own artistic voice expressed through shape, form, glaze and texture. Art is creative communication that is conveyed through all kinds of media. Music, painting, craft and cooking all offer artistic opportunities.  For me, art generates a sensory reaction. Sight, hearing, taste, smell and touch can be stimulated through art.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

In the past I mostly made traditional clay shapes on the wheel, mimicking what I saw my teachers demonstrate. It was a good way to learn technique and materials. Tall forms became vases or pitchers. Round forms turned into bowls or casseroles. My forms were rigid in structure.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Now I create hand-built shapes using a slab roller and pattern templates I’ve devised. I assemble the pieces I cut out and texture into the final product. This type of clay production feeds my ability for self-expression. I have let go of rigidity in favor of more fluid and organic shapes. I accept a ‘wabi-sabi’ aesthetic to achieve my desired outcome. I often incorporate a mixed media approach using collected and found materials to finish my pieces.  I like making functional items that convey a sense of whimsy.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

Creating clay art is the easy part for me.  My challenge is sharing, marketing and selling what I make. I’m working on improving those areas of my clay art business through my website and social media. I am so lucky to be able to go to my studio everyday and do what I love. I hope to continue on this path and grow as an artist.

5. What else would you like to say?

Thank you for the opportunity to be part of 5 Questions!

Artist Supplied Background:

Laura Silberman has been getting her hands muddy since she was fourteen years old in a Saturday clay class at the Corcoran School for the Arts in Washington, DC in the 1970’s. Since then, she’s taken and taught several clay classes and workshops to further her skills and share her own knowledge. Silberman says, “Clay offers so many avenues to explore artistically, I find the possibilities endless and I am always learning and growing in my expression.” Silberman has evolved her clay-making technique away from the potter’s wheel to soft slab constructed hand built shapes with lots of applied texture and brightly colored glazes. She enjoys the organic nature of clay while making functional items in her home studio. She describes her art as “FUNCtional Pottery for home and garden with a whimsical flair.”

You can also visit Laura Silberman on Facebook and Instagram.

5questions3

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
One Comment Add yours

  1. debspots says:

    I love this! Great post Julie and Laura!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

