Blu Loui: “Something That Has to Touch My Heart”

Artist name: Blu Loui

Featured Work 1:

99

Blu Loui captures diverse moods and characters in his striking, balanced works.  He uses contrasting colors, strong outlines, and  accurate and emotive curving lines in his drawings which capture the essence of a moment or being, and range from fanciful cartoons to illustrative realism.

Featured Work Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art to me is something that has to touch my heart, it’s within pretty much everything in life, if you’re openly looking out for it.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

In the past, many moons ago, before cctv and the internet, in the days of Chicago Bulls bomber jackets and Karl Karni jeans, I had been known to cut stencils out of old 80’s pop record sleeves and used address labels for DIY sticker slap ups for unsuspecting lamppost, letterboxes and street signs, my trademark logo at the time was a duck smoking a pipe.

3. What are you making now, and why?

At the moment I am working on more than one thing at a time, which really doesn’t suit me, I tend to delegate myself to one thing at a time to refrain from having lots of unfinished work, but as it goes I have a line of t-shirts under construction which is great fun, I’m customizing trainers and furniture with spray paints and posca pens. Recently I’ve been lucky enough to get hands on with some urban vinyl toy design, I draw portraits, framed wall art on request, I live for and will always be drawing quirky characters for my personal selfish pleasure, not to forget, still keeping it roots today slapping stickers and spraying stencils.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

My hopes for the future are to have a bigger pool than Kanye.

5. What else would you like to say?

One last thing I would like to say is I’m a proud doodler and I wouldn’t be who I am today without the loving support of my beautiful mother Angel Carroll who inspires me to be myself no matter what and continue to do what I love. In the words of Earl Nightingale “if you have a progressive realization of a worthy ideal, you can direct your mind to any ends you desire,” or something like that.

Artist Supplied Background:

Blu Loui, 32 years of age, was born in Nottingham, England, the son of a Horticulture professor. He is of Jamaican/British (father) and English/Irish (mother) descent. Blu changed his name early in his career as his government registered name was far to long.

image1

 

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

