Callie Garp: “We Are All Constantly Growing and Changing”

Artist name: Callie Garp

Featured Work 1:

il_570xN.908291603_384m

As well as executing beautiful drawings and illustrations with delicate lines, intuitive color choices, and self-affirming and bold phrases, Callie Garp runs both the Fabulously Feminist Magazine and design shop, dedicated to social and eco justice. Since her work often includes text and literally speaks for itself, I won’t spend too long describing it but will say I concur that it is fabulously feminist and really enjoy it. I have my own set of Self Care Feminist Laptop Stickers (example above). Callie Garp also works in 3-D mediums, social activism, and performance.

Featured Works Slideshow (Be informed that a vulva/vagina shaped soap is included.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

I feel as though that’s a more complicated question than it ever seemed to be. When ideas like lived practice and social practice and performance are understood through the lens of art – what then is art? I think the best answer I can give is that art is somehow an aestheticized or theorized re-framing of something we encounter within ourselves, within the world. Through creative expression, interaction and reception -AKA art- we are able to gain something more.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

My undergraduate experience was largely dedicated to painting and printmaking. As is the case with many young artists, I explored the most prevalent mediums in my department. Plus, I really, really enjoy color! I was dedicated to figurative studies, I think somewhat as a way to engage with the conflicts of identity, activism and justice I was navigating in real life. I spent a long time struggling with the question of how I wanted to be a feminist activist artist. In graduate school I explored feminist art off the canvas in social practice and performance work, which integrated sculpture and craft practices. It felt like a natural progression, and still does.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Lately my creative work has been even more directly activist: creating activist/craftivist items for people to utilize. I feed this illustrative work through my role as the director and coordinator of Fabulously Feminist Magazine, a publication dedicated to social and eco justice. Our staff is entirely made up of volunteers from across the US, New Zealand,  the UK, the Philippines and Nairobi. Placing our different understandings of theory, politics and art all in one (sometimes confusing & messy) context is empowering and a reminder that we are all constantly growing and changing.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I hope to eventually expand Fabulously Feminist into an arts-based cooperative that engages with art and eco justice both online and in person through workshops, classes and events. But for now I am enjoying getting to connect with social justice fighters from all over the world, and building a platform of feminist activism & discussion.   

5. What else would you like to say?

If anyone out there is interested in joining the discussion at FabFeminist, please feel free to shoot me an email at calliegarp @ gmail . com.

Artist Supplied Background:

Callie Garp has a bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts with minors in Women’s Studies and Art History from Plymouth State University and Masters of Fine Arts from Tufts University. She works in various mediums, from painting, printmaking, sculpture, to performance and lived practice. Garp dedicates most of her time these days to running Fabulously Feminist Magazine, and her design shop by the same name, dedicated to social and eco justice. You can also connect with her and FabFeminist on Instagram and Tumblr.

 

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

