Samantha Goss: “That Place Where I Didn’t Feel Like an Outcast”

Artist name: Samantha Goss

Featured Work 1:

9988

Samantha Goss does a beautiful job melding the solid textures, objects, people, and places of the earth with the ethereal ones of dreams and fantasies, both delightful and haunting. Her works are gracefully composed, powerful, and saturated with emotion.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art to me, is a place to escape and heal. It’s always been that place where I didn’t feel like an outcast. When I have an issue, art has always been there to allow me to express myself in any way I saw fit. I find myself connecting with not only myself but also other people easier through my work.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I used to draw all the time. I grew up thinking I would be a classical fine art drawer. I would draw because I thought it was fun, it helped me to escape the boring life I had with school and home. I’ve always kept to myself and through that I have learned many creative outlets for my emotions and thoughts.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Instead of drawing, I now do photography. Photography was always pretty dominant in my life in one way or another. Growing up, my passion for this form of art increased each and every day. Photography allowed me to do more than drawing. I’m able to communicate better, connect with others, and I’ve met and seen amazing people and places along the way just by doing photography.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I truly wish to continue what I’m doing in hopes of connecting and inspiring other people to express themselves more.

5. What else would you like to say?

Always follow your heart! No matter what people say to get you down, always push through and work your hardest. Always support other artists. Never under estimate your talent. Never do work for “exposure” and never let another person tell you that what you’re doing isn’t art.

Artist Supplied Background:
Samantha Goss is a Charleston South Carolina based conceptual photographer. She creates whimsical portraits that are romanticized versions of adventure, dreams, and life experiences. With a cinematic quality, each image appears as a moment in time that tell a story about the experiences of life. She always had a passion for art and anything to do with music. While other children socialized, Samantha kept to herself and learned multiple ways to entertain herself without having to worry about the social pains that peer pressure offered. Learning to sing, play piano, and draw, she always had high expectations and dreams for herself. Traditionally a fine art drawer, she found other ways to express her ideas and make them come to life. Photography captured her heart at a young age and continues to grow every day. Not having any prior education, she taught herself many photographic and editing techniques that she still uses in her works today. She did not receive any formal education for her art form until her sophomore year in college where she learned how to see more than what meets the eye. Now she displays her biggest fears, her largest dreams, and her darkest thoughts for all to see and come together as a community to connect. You can also see her work on Facebook and YouTube.

Portrait_Samantha_Goss

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

