Nik West: “I am making ME.”

Artist name: Nik West

Featured Work 1: Nik West playing Michael Jackson’s Get On The Floor–she says, “Great bass line by the late great Louis Johnson! I added a few more percussive notes and ghost notes than the original just to add more of a drum feel to it.” Also, check out this song she wrote called LOUIS J here. It’s the first video I ever saw of Nik West and it is amazing.

Nik West is a genuine wonder. Her talent mesmerizes, her style excites, and her music moves and transports us in a deep and vibrant manner. I dare you not to move some part of your body while you listen. I am excited that Nik West has joined our Ask Artists interview community.Take a few minutes to enjoy her sounds and words.

More Featured Works: A featured video from Nik West’s website and Nik West playing “Some Prince FUNK” (with permission from Prince–she also shares reflections on her friend’s passing here). And finally, here is a promo for the Nik West Band.

1. What is music to you?

Music is an expression of my deepest thoughts that probably wouldn’t be shared otherwise. It is an outlet for me to feel my emotions in a real way.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I’ve “made” lots of things from soul music to funk music to rock music. I’ve also made costumes and art. I am really good with my hands so anything my hands can find to do, it usually comes out artistically tasteful (in my own mind lol).

3. What are you making now, and why?

I am making ME. Besides the art, I am making a legacy and something to actually be remembered by. I am recording a new album and just finished filming my new music video called “Bottom of The Bottle”.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

To just be a brand that people respect and value. I’d like to collaborate with Sting and record a song with Lenny Kravitz.

5. What else would you like to say?

I like how Nike puts it. Just do it! I like to use Michael Jordan as a template. He just DID IT! He came early and stayed late and made sure that he worked harder than everyone else. He didn’t let failures stop him.

Artist Supplied Background:

Nik West sports a colorful mohawk shaped like a bass clef. With credits that include work for artists such as, Dave Stewart of Eurythmics fame, Prince, Glee, and most recently, appearing as a special guest on American Idol, bassist, singer and songwriter Nik West is anything more than just another pretty face. Noted music journalist Alex Henderson (Billboard) sums West’s incredible talent up saying

“Nik West is one 21st Century artist who isn’t lacking in the chops department. She is a young electric bassist who clearly knows her way around her instrument and plays like she has been inspired by the funky likes of Larry Graham, Louis Johnson (of Brothers Johnson fame) and Marcus Miller.”

Nik West is also a highly expressive singer. Known for impressively recording a cover of “Back In Black” by AC/DC, Nik shocked many rock fanatics and instantly became a new favorite of legend Steven Tyler. She has also shared stages with John Mayer, Sugarland, Bootsy Collins, and Orianthi. You can follow her on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

nik1

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
2 Comments Add yours

  1. AWESOME!!! I can’t wait to show my daughter and husband. They are both musicians and would enjoy hearing her music…and I love her Prince cover! My daughter will definitely be inspired- girl with a guitar. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. J. Travers says:

      Great, she is the best! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

