Ava Laurel: “I Have So Much Planned”

Artist name: Ava Laurel

Featured Works 1 and 2:

Ava Laurel is an inventive inter-disciplinary artist who works with words, drawn and photographed images, and music. Her insightful observations and creative commentaries on the world around her are candid, engaging, fresh, and colorful, with an urban mood. Below, enjoy more of her images and one of her musical works.

Additional Featured Works:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is obviously subjective; it’s literally someone presenting a perspective. I don’t think it necessarily has to be visual, as long as it’s an idea that can evoke something out of the receiving end.

Art mostly reaches out to me, though, when I can see the levels of thought and excitement that go into the piece. I love that. You can just tell by their brush strokes or the way they perform or whatever. Like little details put into drawings, or a reference in a poem or something that is so subtle that they haven’t done it to show off, but for themselves. And I can feel that. It’s all well and good being able to immaculately paint a fruit bowl but I’d much rather connect to a square on a piece of paper that has been intricately thought out and meant something to the artist.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I’ve always been making doodles and taking pictures. I feel like my illustrations are pretty hit and miss though, because, well, they’re not exactly Picasso – but more about the concept and what they mean to me. All my life I’ve been filling pages and pages of crazy illustrations that are very personal. Then when I hit 16 I got really into documentary style photography and I perused that for a while, I made a couple projects about things that interested me – girlhood, society, class, etc. It really helped me develop my own opinions on life in general.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Now I’m experimenting with different ways to combine all my art forms into solid projects. I’ve just started a side project called “Lava La Rue” which basically takes segments of poems I’ve written in my sketchbook alongside pieces I’ve drawn and structures them into melodies over some easy beats.

 I’m really excited about it actually, as it’s a way I can combine my illustrations, designs and photography/film-making skills into making cover art and music videos. The visuals completely need to be on a par with the music for me. I have so much planned for it. It’s at early stages right now but this year and next year should have a lot to say.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

Well my friends and I have recently started arts collective called NINE8 (WWW.NINE8COLLECTIVE.COM ) It’s basically an online platform for us to showcase our work and collaborations, but very inclusive and very much about encouraging others to come and join us. I’m really hoping to see that grow, us start doing shows and exhibition as a collective and inspire others to join us. That way I can continue to do Lava La Rue, Ava Laurel, A.Laurel and still be Aiwa.

5. What else would you like to say?

 If anyone would be interested in modelling for me for photography projects or getting involved in film making w/me hmu the bigger my projects the better. Insta -@LAVALARUE 🙂

Artist Supplied Background:

Aiwa Laurel D-G (More commonly known as Ava Laurel, or stage name Lava La Rue) is a 17 year old photographer, illustrator and musician based in London.  Although Ava had been illustrating and taking candid pictures of family and friends from a young age most of her works had been kept personal -never being formally taught in the arts had put her off showcasing her work.

However, after taking on photography at further education, Ava began showcasing projects online – leading her to gain various jobs in commercial/event photography and design.  In late December 2015, Ava started a side project under the pseudonym “Lava La Rue” -an anagram of her name- which takes extracts of poems written in her personal sketchbooks and presents them over mellow, jazz inspired hip-hop productions. Despite her works taking various contrasting platforms, Laurel keeps them all intertwined – with recurring themes in youth culture and politics.

You can also follow her on twitter and Soundcloud.

FullSizeRender

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

