Marco Gallotta: “Art for Me is Love.”

Artist name: Marco Gallotta

Featured Works 1 and 2: Diandra and Rain (“Thank you to amazing Diandra Forrest and her beautiful baby Rain”) and so hard to say I love you

13327346_523420011197557_4781499141093575604_n

88

Gallotta’s fascination with exposing and questioning the edges of figures and other forms in his work is mesmerizing. His characters appear to us dissected, layered, revealed and also veiled in a surreal masquerade. He works in many mediums, creating beautiful and powerful pieces in each, and his sense of balance while he explores a love affair between positive and negative space is masterly.

On June 17 Marco Gallotta will join Bruno Big  in sharing work at the “Primary Obverse” show at One Art Space Gallery. The “Primary Obverse” show, curated by Monica Watkins,  is giving partial proceeds to the Jesse Lewis Choose Love Foundation, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization with “a commitment to reach students, educators and individuals, nationally and internationally, and provide them with a simple yet profound formula for choosing love.”

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art for me is love.   Art is something that makes me a passionate person.

Art is also a tool that enables me to give a voice to those who struggle with being heard.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I started my art career as a fashion illustrator. I worked with a number of clients in the fashion world.

I worked mainly with watercolors and printmaking.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I am now a paper-cutting artist.

I work mainly with photos and paper that I carve with a scalpel, with surgical precision. What emerges is a series of overlapping images, to which I sometimes add layers of color and wax, creating uneven and interesting surfaces.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I wish to continue growing as an artist and to use my art to make a positive impact.

I love what I do and I feel lucky that I am able to do this for a living. I want to give back with my art.

I really believe in the power of art and I wish to use my art as an instrument of social change.

5. What else would you like to say?

I am very excited to work with fellow artist Bruno Big and curator Monica Watkins on a new show called Primary Obverse, where we will showcase a series of portraits depicting visionaries that are working to affect positive change in our society.

Artist Supplied Background:

Marco Gallotta is an Italian-born, New York City-based artist. He received his associate’s degree in fashion illustration and a bachelor’s degree in general illustration from the Fashion Institute of Technology. He grew up in Italy, before moving to New York City in 1998. His artistic craft consists mostly of paper-cutting techniques, drawing, painting, and printmaking. Today, Marco resides with his wife and daughter in New York City, where he finds inspiration in its urbanscape, distinct artistic facets, and diverse population.  He currently practices his craft in an intimate studio workshop in West Harlem. His vast expertise in mixed media techniques, including drawing, painting, and printmaking, add to his work a unique combination of artisan craftsmanship and graphic sensibility.  Watercolors, inks, and graphite are applied to photographs that are then cut out. Layers of cut-out photographs, paper and other materials are strategically  overlapped to create ingenious compositions. His clients include Nike, Vogue, the United Nations, Radio City Music Hall, Academy Award winner Ennio Morricone, actor Will Smith, and NBA player Gigi Datome.

Follow and enjoy Marco Gallotta’s work on Facebook and Instagram, and attend the Primary Obverse Opening Reception and Exhibition at One Art Space Gallery on June 17, 2016!

image

flyer

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

