Aquina La’Shae: “Art to Me is Life”

Artist name: Aquina La’Shae

Featured Work 1: Shot of model: @thatboyleigh, location: LA River

3

Aquina La’Shae is a multi-talented artist and inspired business woman. She works in photography,  make-up artistry, fashion, modeling, and also runs a magazine. She has a gift for creating and capturing beautiful, colorful looks and compositions.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art to me is life and a form of self expression.

I am a introverted person so I can express myself through my art when I am going through something in life. Most artists can relate to this statement because a lot of people create for self expression. So art to me is life and a form of self expression

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I use to create photo collages. I would paint part of the picture, then draw another part, and then cut pictures out of a magazine, and create a collage and combine them all together. I had a whole sketchpad dedicated to collages that I created.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I am a photographer, and I also paint occasionally. Photography has become a new passion of mine. I started off just taking images of my daughter and moved to creating editorials with other talented models, stylists, hairstylist mua’s, etc. I love photography because you can tell a story completely with just the images. No words just images. You can create a complete storyline with makeup, wardrobe, lighting, etc.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I am working towards becoming a household name in the fashion / beauty world as a photographer. I have been working towards this since May 2010 and I have only progressed and learned over the years and I couldn’t be any happier with how far I’ve come. I plan on mentoring young girls who are interested in working in the fashion, beauty, and multimedia industry.

5. What else would you like to say?

Never give up on your dream, work hard and create for your purpose, and never another person’s.

Artist Supplied Background:

Aquina La’Shae, age 29, is a multifaceted business woman who has made a name for herself throughout the Bay Area with her work as a make-up artist, photographer, modeling consultant and model. Although Aquina La’Shae is self-taught in all fields, her creative ingenuity and strong network has helped her excel. She has nine years of experience as a make-up artist–four of those years were professional through her own company Exclusive Eyez, which branched out into the model consulting company BAE, which was founded in 2009.
Aquina La’Shae is a very hands-on photographer who  does the make-up, styling and edits for her shoots. Her strong work ethic has led to her being known as one of the best in the Bay and is securing her a healthy number of client referrals as well. She has actively been supporting Breast Cancer Awareness by organizing her own campaign and raising funds to support the cause. However, Aquina La’Shae has her eye set on further expansion and she is currently in school majoring in Photo Journalism, as well as dropping a magazine this year which she plans on expanding to the east coast. She also has a dream of owning her own management agency for clients throughout the fashion and entertainment industries. With her dedication to quality in every aspect of her work, Aquina La’Shae leaves no doubt that she can achieve the highest level of success. Be on the look out for A.La’Shae she is indeed a woman with Ambition and drive!” You can follow La’Shae on Instagram @Alashaephotography and @A.Lashaemakeup.

11888061_10208044234810482_3429367700009332330_n-1

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

Leave a Reply

