David Meehan: “Art is My Linus Blanket…Art is My Religion, My Rock and Roll”

Artist name: David Meehan

Featured Works 1 and 2:

David Meehan’s work expresses his appreciation for the world around him. He creates portraits and illustrations that are full of personality and life’s momentary vibrations. He is gifted in gestural drawing and using loose lines to convey the heart and essence of what he observes or imagines.

Featured Work Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is my passion, my life, my ‘why’ without reason
Art is beautiful …and very ugly
Art is everything for me
…and nothing at all
I feel Art is something unique and different
…but sometimes common and vulgar
Art is boring and phoney
– corny and pretentious
Art belongs to the people
Art is serious
Art is fun
Art is my self discovery
Art alleviates the stress of life,
relieves the pain of a broken heart,
– consoles me when i have no hope
Art is my linus blanket when i venture out of my comfort zone
…my sanctuary thru the bitterest day,
…my teddy bear in the loneliest nite,
Art is my refuge, my haven, my life-line
Art is my obsession, my religion, my rock and roll,
Art is my journey without destination
my shadow, my soul buddy as i wander lost and alone
ARt is a ‘je ne se quoi’
a soft tender teardrop ,
a delicate caress
art is loud and clear
-in your face
it’s the wild ravaging flames
the warm glowing embers
art is my reason for getting up in the morning
Art IS
…and sometimes ISN’T
i cannot say what art is…
Is it important to know?
Dunno…
I only know for me it ain’t half good 🙂 !!!

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I have been drawing, illustrating and sketching for fun, to sell, to satisfy, to discover myself. I also do some creative writing – short stories and poetry.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I’m continuing drawing and some creative writing and for the same reasons.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I hope to carry on doing my art but discovering different styles.

5. What else would you like to say?

Love, Peace, Art and Hugs for every1 everywhere 🙂

Artist Supplied Background:

Dave is an ARTIST: He sells his drawings and paintings on the internet, in bars and the street. His style changes often but can perhaps be best described as fast, sloppy, and casual.  He is also an COMMUNITY ARTS COORDINATOR. He runs arts activities – mainly drawing, painting and creative writing.  Every1 is welcome.
Art is my obsession, my religion, my rock and roll.

You can also follow him on Facebook.

me verti.

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

