Pretty Rik E: “Make Waves That No One Can Ignore”

Artist name: Pretty Rik E

Featured Work 1: Pretty Rik E Performance of 5 O’clock In The Morning (these videos contain somewhat adult lyrics and content) and photos

12705478_1671987503071574_6803842389011847853_n

Meet and enjoy Pretty Rik E, who knows how to own the stage with his captivating Hip Hop drag king performances. You’re welcome. Another performance is here, and you can check out clips from the Pretty Boi Drag  F*CK BRUNCH! Drag Lunch on January 31, 2016 here. The next one is scheduled for September 4, 2016, and you can learn more and buy tickets here.

Another Featured Work: Performance with the DC Kings: Wiggle

13235430_1709811752622482_3001521835799428099_o

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is performance to you?

Performance is confidence in myself, not only as a performer, but as a person. It’s a form of self-expression that allows me to share myself with a room of complete strangers. As a producer, it’s a much needed creative outlet to combat the stifling life of a 9-5 in corporate America. And most importantly, it is therapy for my soul. It allows me to shake off my anxieties and self-doubt before stepping onto that stage. I also like to think of performance as being all of those things for the audience as well. A public service, if you will.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

After the drag king troupe I belonged to folded last year, there were very few remaining opportunities for drag kings. Along with my best friend and fellow drag king, Chris Jay, we co-founded Pretty Boi Drag a production company specializing in drag king shows and events. We decided to try and do something a little different than just a troupe, but to create something that will challenge what drag kings do on stage.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Right now I am producing shows as well as performing in them which is stressful, but fun. But stressful, lol. We’ve started producing drag king brunch shows called, F*CK BRUNCH! and our next show is a serious labor of love. We’re calling it F*CK BRUNCH! Sunday Service and it’s going to be a mock church service with drag kings serving as the pastors and choir. It’s a lot of my wife, who is also a co-producer for Pretty Boi Drag, telling me, “No, we can’t afford that,” which is kind of her main job. My father told me to always shoot for the stars because you’ll at least clear the trees. I try to perform and produce with that always in mind.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

For myself, I hope I can just continue to grow as a performer and a producer. I want to put on amazing performances and shows that leave the audience wanting more.

For the performance art of drag kinging, I hope I will be able to tell people I’m a drag king and not have to explain what that means. I want us as artists to make waves that no one can ignore. In a world where drag queens are so readily recognizable, I think drag kings should be just as recognizable.

Those are my hopes for the future.

5. What else would you like to say?

As someone who was in their mid-30s before I got the nerve to try something new, I am now a big believer and supporter in trying new things. Producing was not even on my radar, but I am putting my all into it and feeling the joys of success. But no matter what happens I can always say, “Welp. At least I gave it a try.”

Artist Supplied Background:

With his signature fitted hat and gold chains, Pretty Rik E first stepped onto a stage in 2013 and instantly found himself; everything from the crowd, to the lights and music, called to him. As a performer, Pretty Rik E loves to get the crowd moving to the beats of both classic and contemporary Hip-hop and R&B music. As a producer, his goal is to create an experience for audience members that leaves them breathless and thirsty for more.

Enjoy more of Pretty Rik E’s work on his Facebook page, and check out Pretty Boi Drag’s site and Facebook as well.

PrettyRikE-PBD

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

