Laurence de Valmy: “Our Basic Need to Imagine, Create, and Share”

Artist name: Laurence de Valmy

Featured Work 1: Time to take a swim

714d89_522cf723d50544b1b652bb09a75ab0bd

Laurence de Valmy’s description of the above: “this painting is from a trip in the Caribbeans. I loved how the light reflected on the water, on the ladder, and how the shadow of a coconut tree completed the tropical atmosphere.” Laurence de Valmy takes her viewers sightseeing in richly colored scenes with sumptuous contours. Her vivid and balanced works, infused and beaming with light, are stunning, and encourage us to consider and enjoy the objects and shades of light around us with new interest.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Art does not reproduce the visible, rather it makes visible,”– I love this phrase of Paul Klee’s because I believe art is a means for humans to express, and therefore make visible, their thoughts and emotions through various mediums. It answers our basic need to imagine, create, and share. I find it fascinating and moving that humans have created art since the origin of humanity and in all civilizations. Art is diverse but finds its unity in the fact that all humans practice it in different forms. It’s a communication tool and for me, sharing my art is as important as creating it.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

Like most painters, I have worked in different styles which has been a great way to learn different techniques and find my own path. I have been influenced by my mother, an artist herself, and inspired by artists like Edouard Manet, Paul Gauguin, David Hockney, or the fashion illustrator Rene Gruau. About 10 years ago, I got the chance to work with some contemporary realist painters and discovered a style that I fell in love with. I admire the work of Janet Fish and got inspired by her and many others. Today I define myself as a realist painter with a style often labelled as photorealist, which has led me to be featured on www.photorealism.org.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I believe that what we see influences our mood. That’s why I love to work with bright colors and my goal is to convey a feeling of a peaceful moment in time. I enjoy studying the effect of light and the reflections on water, glass, or shiny surfaces. I recently completed a body of work around my French culture and was happy to exhibit it at the French Institute (FIAF) Montclair, NJ. Living away from my home country makes me probably a bit sentimental about it and I’m happy to share some images of Paris and of French symbols in a style that comes from the American culture.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I feel very privileged to do something I’m passionate about and to meet (or e-meet!) a lot of very interesting people. I am very excited to have exhibits both in the USA and in France, which is a nice way to keep the connection and I hope I can keep on growing with my work and touch people with my art. I always keep in mind that had I been born in different times, different places, and with a different background, I might not have that chance, especially as a woman. I wish that more people were as lucky as I am, to be free to do something they love, whether it’s art, sports, business or anything that motivates them.

5. What else would you like to say?

I’d like to thank you for your interest in my work and for this opportunity to share it. Art is about sharing and this platform is a great place for artists to do so. I also believe that things happen thanks to the people you meet. I’m therefore very grateful to all the people who help me along the way and I try to give back as much as I can.

Artist Supplied Background:

Being born in Africa and raised in Paris and London gave Laurence de Valmy early on the taste of traveling and discovering other cultures.

Laurence’s work is between Contemporary Realism and Photorealism, which has led her to be featured on photorealism.org. She explores the beauty of things in different series which are inspired by Laurence’s own interests in fashion, design and travel.

Laurence actively exhibits her paintings and is included in many private collections in the US, Europe and Asia. She is a full-time painter and keeps a studio in New Jersey, USA. Recent shows in the USA: FIAF Montclair, NJ ; the Ukrainian Institute of NYC; Trygve Lie Gallery, NYC; and in France : Carre d’Art du Cedre Rouge, Paris area, Richelieu Drouot, Paris.

You can follow her work on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Laurence de Valmy at desk.jpg

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

Julia A. Travers

Leave a Reply

