Martin Whatson: “Go for it!”

Artist name: Martin Whatson

Featured Work 1:

787

Martin Whatson’s works are  full of playful and moving juxtapositions. They capture the tension between subdued graysacle and jubilantly colorful worlds. His art creates a sense of release, unveiling, and surprise. Whatson currently has work in the exhibition “LAX / ORD” at Vertical Gallery in Chacago.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

At the moment, its my life, my hobby and my passion. I think about it every day from when I wake up to when I go to bed!

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I’ve always tried to make what I like for myself. Sometimes its easy to get dragged into doing stuff that sells or that you get good response from. I’ve tried to evolve slowly but steadily from when I did graffiti in the early 2000’s to where I am now.

3. What are you making now, and why?

I’m knee deep in a series where I incorporate graffiti with stencils and everyday situations or objects. And it’s the kind of paintings I truly enjoy creating. After doing just stencils for half a decade I wanted to do some more hands on with the actual painting and what’s more hands on and rough then graffiti!!?

4. What are your hopes for the future?

My goal is to survive as an artist for the rest of my life. I will be very hard getting back to a “normal” job after working as an artist full time for as long as I have now! And I want to keep painting works outside for people to see outside of a gallery.

5. What else would you like to say?

Go for it!!! The one thing I felt pushed me into making this a profession was taking the leap!

Artist Background (from martinwhatson.com):

Martin Whatson (b. 1984) is a Norwegian born and based stencil artist. While studying Art and Graphic design at Westerdals School of Communication, Oslo, he discovered stencils and the urban art scene. After following graffiti and its development, he started his own stencil production 10 years ago in the winter of 2004.

Martin has a continuous urge to search for beauty in what is commonly dismissed as ugly, out of style or simply left behind. He looks for inspirations in people, city landscapes, old buildings, graffiti, posters and decaying walls. This interest for decay has helped develop his style, motives and composition and he enjoys creating either unity or conflict between materials, backgrounds, motives and human intervention. His artistic expression started more political, but has developed into a more subtle expression blending graffiti, stencil art and decay together. Inspired by artist like Jose Parlá and Cy Twombly. His abstract graffiti and stencils are a mix of urban scenes showing the development of a walls lifetime. He use grey tones as a basis but add’s vibrant colours to break the monochrome concrete expression and bring a splash of life to his motives. Since his artistic debut in 2004, he has had several solo shows and participated in many group exhibitions, both nationally and in international metropoles like Tokyo, Paris, London, New York and Los Angeles.

You can follow Whatson on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

startphoto_web.jpeg

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

