Stasia Burrington: “To Stay Curious and Foolhardy”

Artist name: Stasia Burrington

Featured Work 1: “A Dreamy Mess” Sumi ink, acrylic and fabric flowers on handmade watercolor paper, 22×30.” Janaury 2014, Exhibited at GR2 for the “Merged Views” group show.

adreamymess

Stasia Burrington is a master with rendering and ink who excels in bringing ethereal and bodily creatures into vivid, flowing existence. Her beautiful characters fill the space they inhabit, reaching with curves and waves to the edge of the page and into the emotional realm of the viewer. Some are playful, some are mourning, and some dissolve or transform into plumes of space, flame, or petals. Be informed that some of the images included below include nudity and eroticism.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

My art is my full-time occupation and what I do for fun and for money. It’s how I meet like-minded people, my way of exploring and making sense of the world.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

Oh geez, I’ve made lots of things. I’ve painted and collaged personal, serious and/or silly art pieces as a way to document my obsessions and then I’ve made cards, patches, prints, and stickers to distribute my designs. I’ve printed and designed clothing because I love clothes. I’m currently illustrating kids’ books because it’s been my childhood dream. In the past I’ve contributed to anonymous biographical graphic novels, for fun and for anthropological exercise. Lots of things I’ve made because I’ve been asked to, and they’ve sounded fun!

3. What are you making now, and why?

Right now, I’m illustrating a sorta-secret magician’s handbook that I’m really excited about, and I’m working on three new bodies of work for upcoming gallery shows. I set deadlines for myself to come up with new work without really being certain what will come out of it, for the challenge, and to see if I can make something that feels new to me.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

In the future I’d love to do more collaborations with other artists: visual, audio, film, experimental, etc. I’ve just wrapped up my first outdoor mural, and am planning on more outdoor/public works – stuff that you don’t have to go into a gallery to see. Also, to stay curious and foolhardy.

5. What else would you like to say?

Thank you so much for reaching out!

Artist Supplied Background:

Stasia Burrington lives and works in SeaTac, WA as a full time artist/illustrator. She attended Cornish College of the Arts and graduated with a BFA from the University of Idaho in 2009. She has co-authored graphic novels, and illustrated books for both adults and children.

Explore more of her work on Facebook, Etsy, and Instagram.

stasia

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

