Ross Hendrick: “I’ve always Found it easier to Express Myself through my Artwork”

Artist name: Ross Hendrick

Featured Work 1: “Escape”

umbrella-flying

Ross Hendrick’s paintings, comics, and animations offer the viewer and reader a range of experiences; their mood can be thoughtful, conversational, surreal, funny, disturbing, woeful, refreshing, honest, and somber. We get to see familiar cartoons re-imagined and political figures and social topics caricatured and meet new characters navigating the jungle of modern life in all it’s overwhelming violence and banality.

Featured Works Slideshow:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

Art is a way of life to me and I cannot go too long without feeling the need to create. I’ve always found it easier to express myself through my artwork.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

I’ve always drawn cartoons, ever since I can remember. When I was young, I would create my own characters and make my own comics. When I started trying to sell professionally, I drew lots of caricatures and comic strips which I sent to many different publications.

I finally achieved my childhood ambition when I got my work published in “The Beano” and “Viz,” two of the UK’s most well-known comics which I read growing up.

3. What are you making now, and why?

Over the years, I’ve found I’ve become more inspired by delving into my own thoughts and feelings and writing and drawing about what I know.
This has led to my latest comic creation, “Socially Awkward Misfit.” Loosely based on myself, this is a humorous look at life as an introvert. Recently, I have published the first Socially Awkward Misfit comic book, which features a longer story plus a compilation of the best strips so far.
I also do pop / surrealism / urban / street art paintings, so I am also working on these, as well as the odd caricature or single frame cartoon.

4. What are your hopes for the future?

I’d like to develop “Socially Awkward Misfit” into longer comic stories, possibly a graphic novel, and animated episodes. I also aim to develop my paintings and drawings. I’ve been involved in a couple of exhibitions and it would be great to do some more in the future.

5. What else would you like to say?

Nothing more I can think of. I am an introvert, after all!

Artist Supplied Background:

Ross Hendrick is an artist who specializes in comics, pop surrealism paintings and animation. He has drawn comic strips for famous British comics “Viz” and “The Beano,” as well as drawing a regular strip for the Express & Echo newspaper. He is the creator of the popular web comic, “Socially Awkward Misfit,” which features a character called Sam – an acronym of the aforementioned title.

His paintings have been exhibited in several galleries in the UK, and his animated films have been showcased in festivals throughout the world.

You can follow “Socially Awkward Misfit” on Facebook and Twitter.

rh.jpg

Follow us on Instagram:

new-instagram-logo_1-large_trans++qVzuuqpFlyLIwiB6NTmJwfSVWeZ_vEN7c6bHu2jJnT8

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers
Leave a Reply

