Christine Rennie: “Showing the World What Your Soul Has to Say About You”

Artist name: Christine Rennie

Featured Works: Slideshow of 3 Still lifes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Christine Rennie’s beautiful paintings utilize a variety of brush strokes as well as impressionistic layering to achieve balance and lyricism. Much like a well built spring bouquet, the composition feels both controlled and organic; both measured and free.  This artist invites us to enjoy and examine levels of tactile brushstrokes in works ranging from still life to figurative to scenic (as in the piece below).

Featured Work 2: Reflections After The Storm, 11 x 14 Acrylic on Canvas

cr 8

5 Questions for the Artist:

1. What is art to you?

“Art to me is self expression without words. A form of inner release. Art is showing the world what your soul has to say about you; what you think, what you feel, what moves you. Artwork comes in many forms, for me it’s purely color. How bold, bright, and breathtaking pigments can be. I try to capture that feeling in every painting I create. My wish is the person viewing my work sees just how I feel.

2. What did you make in the past, and why?

“In the past I made lots of work in various forms. I’ve juggled pastels, water color and oils. I’ve painted abstract, landscapes, still life’s and everything in between. My seascapes, boats in particular, are what got me into my first gallery. However, it wasn’t long before my floral still life’s took center stage.”

3. What are you making now, and why?

“Today I mainly paint very large, bold, floral, still life’s. You could say I found my true calling. You see, a renowned artist once told me ‘you become famous as an artist when someone can recognize your work.’ Lots of artists choose to paint flowers. I have yet to see anyone painting flowers as big as your head in every color of the rainbow. I start with a single bloom, a focal flower and build the painting around it.”

4. What are your hopes for the future?

“I hope to grow my work in the future. Availability in galleries across the U.S. To teach others how to bring out the art that is inside themselves. To bring happiness and joy to anyone viewing my work. I paint from the inside out. If someone can see that, my mission is complete. By doing what you love you inspire the hearts of others.”

5. Do you want to add anything?

“The things you are passionate about are not random, they are your calling” -Fabiennie Fredrickson

Artist Supplied Background:

Christine Rennie has loved painting and creating art from a young age, winning her first art competition at age nine. Her successes continued into her collegiate years, in which she won several accolades for her artistic abilities. Educated and employed as a Registered Nurse, Christine decided to dedicate her time to raising her family. During these years, Christine’s passion for painting was rekindled and she started to paint for a profession.

Christine’s passion for painting is reflected in her rich and colorful still lifes. Within each painting Christine’s objective is to capture contrast, while bringing to life each piece with vivid color and texture. Christine uses various mediums, brushes, palate-knifes and varnishes, to add depth and texture that truly make each piece one of a kind. Most recently, Christine has been working with 14k Gold Leaf in her paintings, giving her work a unique brilliance. Christine Rennie is also on Facebook and Instagram.

cr

Follow us on Instagram:

instagram2

 

5 Questions for the Artist, © Julia Travers

 

 

Leave a Reply

